Stamford’s Polish Community
Polska Ziemia, Stamford’s Polish Community examines the establishment and history of the Poles in Stamford since they first came in the 1870s. The life of the Polish community was intimately tied to the Polish Church (Holy Name). From the time of the founding of the parish until WWII the life of most Poles revolved around the church, the parochial Holy Name School and the many affiliated societies and clubs. Holy Name Athletic Club was founded in 1925 and was but one of many secular groups that provided opportunites or activities for Stamford’s Poles. Until WWII the community remained fairly insular, though increasingly through the 1930s more Poles married out of the Polish community. It was only after WWII however that the Poles merged into the City of Stamford as a whole.
Next venue to be announced.
For information about the exhibit and its display availability, contact the Society at 329-1183 or e-mail us at email@example.com.
Sponsored by the Connecticut Humanities Council
The Connecticut Humanities Council (CHC) is a statewide non-profit institution located in Middletown, Connecticut that focuses its work on two time-honored traditions in the humanities-reflective reading of literature and exploration of history. CHC reading programs like Motheread/Fatheread and Book Voyages help parents and children strengthen family bonds by reading together while encouraging children to become lifelong, avid readers on their own. CHC heritage programs, often conducted in partnership with state and regional cultural organizations, fund exhibits, walking tours, cultural festivals, and community humanities projects that explore Connecticut’s diverse local heritage, as well as American and world history. Each year, the CHC produces and funds nearly over $2 million in cultural programming that enriches the lives of state residents and visitors statewide. For more information on the Connecticut Humanities Council and its programs please visit www.ctheritage.org or call .